Cee’s Compose Yourself Photo Challenge: Week #7 Vertical Lines

I am participating in Cee’s Compose Yourself Photo Challenge: Week 7 – Vertical Lines.

I’ve selected the photos below for the first part of the challenge – strong vertical lines.

For extra credit, I’m submitting the two shots below. I never take photos in portrait, so this challenge really encouraged me to think outside of the box. I was pleasantly surprised at the results.

I like the landscaped shot on the left of this old building and porch pillar. However, the photo on the right has much more appeal. You can see more of the tree in the foreground, causing your eye to move toward the top of the photo further elongating the vertical pillar and giving the photo more height.

I never would have taken this shot in portrait without Cee’s challenge. I will definitely be experimenting with portrait shots going forward.

 

3 thoughts on “Cee’s Compose Yourself Photo Challenge: Week #7 Vertical Lines

  1. The portrait definitely accents the brickwork. If the woods were the focus then of course the landscape works for that.
    For me switching to portrait is all about keeping track of the camera buttons–haha

    Like

Leave a comment